Corner Stone Missionary Baptist Church Elizabeth City, NC 27909

A Place Where the Worship Experience is Inspirational, Informative, and Relevant for Living

Diaconate Ministry

Mission Statement:The Diaconate Ministry consists of Deacons and Deaconesses. This ministry assists the pastor, visits and cares for the sick, needy and distressed members of the congregation, assists in the administration of communion and baptism, and promotes the spiritual growth of the congregation.

Team Leader(s): Deacon Herman Little

Membership:  Sisters  Martha Berry, Mabel Freeman, Sharon Green, Virginia Jones,  Dorothy Morring, Maxine Price, Melba Purkett,  and Alease Sylvester;
Brothers Lennard Bartlett,  Cleveland Green, Secretary, Charlie Price, Deacon Emeritus; and Walter Berry.
Scripture: In those days when the number of disciples was increasing, the Grecian Jews among them complained against the Hebraic Jews because their widows were being overlooked in the daily distribution of food. So the Twelve gathered all the disciples together and said, It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God in order to wait on tables. Brothers, choose seven men from among you who are known to be full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will turn this responsibility over to them and will give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the word.  Acts 6: 1-4 (NIV)

Meeting Time: 2nd Monday, 6 pm


Spring Revival -

Fall Revival -

Diaconate Celebration

Member Assignments

A-E:  Deacons Lennard Bartlett, Sr. & Herman Little; Deaconesses Virginia Jones

E-M:  Deacon Walter Berry; Deaconesses Martha Berry & Melba Purkett

N-S:   Deaconess Mabel Freeman

T-Z: Deacon Cleveland Green; Deaconesses Sharon Green, Sylvia Johnson, & Dorothy Morring